I Survived the Apocalypse.

So, 2012 is over. I am not going to lie, I was slightly cynical about being able to write this post this time – My Year End (Over)Analysis. But, I guess I still have too much to do/achieve/experience/see/feel before the world explodes in my face.

What was it like? One thing is for sure – I am telling my kids I survived an Apocalypse. Anyone who agrees with me, will be considered as marriage material. I am also telling my kids Harry Potter is real, Santa is not and that girls are the ones with more strength and they will never be able to live without a woman in their lives because they are emotionally incapable of doing so. HAHA. EVIL MOMMY IS EVIL.

Those things aside, this year was more growing up than usual. It is the last year of college which meant doing things I have not done before and being done with more fervour than I would have while spending my last day on this planet. I made my mistakes, too many drunk dials (And you were still THAT patient every time), cried too much and panicked too much also. But, I’m okay now. Just like the end of every year.

What did I learn this year?

I learnt that some things are worth the wait. 
I learnt that some things still need to be waited out.
I learnt that you need to keep pushing to get what you want.
I learnt that Faith is fo’realz. (YES. I said it like that)
I learnt that your friends don’t actually care about the drunk dialing.
I learnt that the drunk dialing can be funny.
I learnt that some eyes will never replicate themselves on to anyone else’s face.
I learnt that some cliches are based on truth.
I learnt that boys are confused, silly, fickle and misunderstood.
I learnt that Dads are only human.
I learnt that no woman is safe.
I learnt that no one is safe from reality.
I learnt that best friends are always best for a reason.

But, what is my favourite lesson of the year?

I learnt to believe in Silver Linings. You know those hopes you pin on people and yourself? Yeah, those let you sleep at night. Those things that lead you to believe that tomorrow is another day. Those things that really don’t matter, but you’ll keep them in mind anyway.
Those things, and words. Some kind words that even if you don’t think you deserve, you’ve been dying to hear.

As I bid 2012 goodbye, I want to say a lot more and wish for a lot more. But, I think we have had a year filled with too many voices and too many opinions spilling all over the place causing the chaos to snowball into a catastrophe. We’re getting there. You know why I ended it like this? Because I never expect anything more than…… You know it. 😉

One thought on “I Survived the Apocalypse.

  1. Pingback: A New Year Beckons! | A Cuppa' Coffee on the Bombay Shore

Leave a Reply

