That Awkward Moment When You’re From Saudi Arabia

“Saudi? MyGod. You have to wear burkhas, right?”

Yes, in fact I own 4.

When I tell people I’ve lived in Riyadh since I was 3, they feel sorry for me. As if I have been living in bondage for years in schools with only girls. I may have never seen any man but my own father who, by the way, rides camels to work.

For those people, I may kindly ask them to save it. For the next Indiana Jones movie, maybe? Thank You.
Now, I’d like to proceed to exhibit A. THAT is what my city looks like:

yep.

While you take that in, let me have you know that I lived an almost normal childhood here. Here’s what I mean by that:

1. After the age of 11, I wore a burkha. Only here, it’s called an Abaya and it’s a bloody style statement. Bling’s the word, children.
2. Oil is indeed, cheaper than water.
3. Every house has 2 living rooms. One for men, one for women. In regular, non-creepy households- One TV room, one SITTING room.
4. There is a place called Al-Othaim which claims to be open for 25 hours. Don’t believe me? Have a look:
6. No “self-respecting” school here has co-ed classes. THAT is why Arab men seem so creepy. They don’t know what girls look like.
7. No car, no social life. Or supplies of anything, really.

Apart from the above facts, my childhood has been no different from any other Indian kid. I have been bred on Bollywood, Cricket and ghee (made from hybrid cows on Arab farms, but ghee nonetheless). I did not have taps made of gold and Osama was not living in my front yard. It’s a lazy life where you do NOTHING but watch TV, read or go online. But, you know what? Being me has its advantages. I quite fit in here.

Oh, and for the male readers, the women are indeed pretty here. 😉

11 thoughts on “That Awkward Moment When You’re From Saudi Arabia

  1. Superb! Very well written. I feel proud to live in the most peaceful country in the world and have such an amazing life .Saudi is great! Most people cannot imagine that people can even have a wonderful and a decent life even without free mixing, alcohol, cinema and having to wear abaya/burka outside.

  2. I am not certain where you’re getting your information, however good topic. I must spend a while studying much more or working out more. Thank you for fantastic info I was searching for this info for my mission.

    • I actually lived in Riyadh till I was 17. I still visit often. So, you could say it’s first hand information. Thanks for reading, though 🙂

  3. Hahaha. This is freakin’ awesome! And NEEDS to be read by people living elsewhere who think we sleep along in tents alongwith camels.

Leave a Reply

