Chuck Lorre’s The Man

I don’t know how many of you watch The Big Bang Theory and even if you do, I doubt any of you have noticed how amusing the little notes from the producer (or Chuck Lorre’s vanity cards) are. I pause and read them every time and the previous episode’s touched me on a little more than personal level. I don’t KNOW what that is. But, I assure you- it’s not my alter ego. Ok. Bad joke for the post- check. Now, to copy-paste the genius little piece I love:

CHUCK LORRE PRODUCTIONS, #345

What doesn’t kill us makes us bitter. I used to believe that to be both funny and true. Years later I learned that pain could also be the touchstone for personal growth, which of course points back to the original saying, “what doesn’t kill us makes us better.” Not funny, but perhaps closer to the truth. Or at least the truth I choose to believe in these days. So, having recently experienced a bit of pain, am I better? Well, let’s review: I think I’m fairly immune to name-calling now. I’m not sure I could have made that claim a few months ago. I’ve also come to see that the things I used to think were big deals, are not. Problems appear to be relative. If you have a big one, it makes all the others seem almost charming in comparison. And finally, when your life takes a path you could never have foreseen, it’s humbling. In a good way. It’s kind of like a friendly reminder from the universe that while you may think you have the starring role in the movie of your life, you’re actually just a bit player trying to grab a quesadilla off the craft services table when no one’s looking.

So, to sum up: I now have a thicker skin, I’m less likely to sweat the small stuff, and, perhaps most importantly, I have a renewed sense of humility. All in all, better. That being said, I still try to stay reasonably bitter in order to maintain my eligibility in the Writers Guild of America.

5 thoughts on “Chuck Lorre’s The Man

  1. Chuck lorre’s vanity cards are a reason why I might spend hours downloading a single tbbt episode. Humility agreed, but bitterness here seems to be too fake to actually fit in context, seeming to be more like a placeholder for ‘the real deal’.
    Call me overtly optimistic, but I think that the guy needs to add in details, for us to make complete sense…what do you think?

  2. seems to be more about inconclusivity and confusion rather than bitterness. well, a blog would suffice for details– some context, as he initially chooses to describe a few years by saying that they’ve been spent not thinking.. instead of accepting that it (the bitter part of that modified saying)was still on his mind. he should focus a little bit more on the long process of arriving at his final conclusion…

  3. I guess that’s because people focus more on the bitterness that helps them grow. I don’t see how positive experiences help you GROW. That’s more about happy memories, isn’t it? I don’t think he needs to specify context as this is something rather identifiable. That’s why I like his vanity cards! 🙂

Leave a Reply

