Awkwardness Comes Naturally To Some

…and I am one of
them. A simple conversation, even a "Hello!" can catch me off guard. It
can be so embarrassing at times. Contrary to popular belief, I am
actually an introvert and this is for all those who know how hard it is
being one.

Let us begin at the beginning. I was 4 when I met this neighbour of mine after a year, during my vacations and when he said "hi!"..I couldn’t even say anything back! I
knew his name when he asked me if I did, I just refused to open up and
say it. Why? No reason. That’s when I was told that there is something
weird about being quiet around strangers. Such incidents colour my life
with their absolute crappiness. Which in simple words means, I hate
it.

Saying that though, I don’t mean to say that I am not proud of being
an introvert. I am what I am. Can’t change that. I just hate the fact
that we are judged so cruelly by society as "boring".

Today, I’ll bust a myth about us introverts- WE ARE NOT SNOBS! We just don’t know you that well. It’s not like we don’t want to talk to you. It will be easier if we both don’t try that hard. We
can be social people, but reveal less about ourselves than
extroverts do. Introverts are more private, and less public. We need
time to think before responding to a situation,just to know what we
will sound like. We are very very self conscious. This usually works
against us when people expect us to open up at the right time, thus
embarrassing ourselves.

And
also…not all introverts are shy and quiet people. There are those
like me who love to talk, just not all the time. I prefer to speak when
I want to or if I am really interested in the conversation. I am one of
those who is more fun around my friends than my family.

On
a final note, I would like to state an observation I made about this
"very boring" sect of society. We usually harbour a crazy
streak…which may surprise you or you may even enjoy witnessing..Wait
for that 😉

12 thoughts on “Awkwardness Comes Naturally To Some

  1. u r not an introvert….i agree with nat and rt………no way wud u ppl have got together had u been an introvert…….. becoz nat and rt are not the type to come and talk to u on their own…..they wud not have come and spoken to u..and had u been an introvert….u wudnt have gone and spokn to them and hence this comes down t oone simple fact…U R NOT AN INTROVERT…..

  2. Thanks for the clarification, Anjana. But…if you read the post right, you’d know that I am one of the talkatove introverts. And plus, they were having a Hrithik vs. SRK debate in class that day. My tongue spoke out of turn….you have no idea how freaked I was…I didn’t even know Natasha’s name a few days later.

Leave a Reply

